Skip to content

Provincials provide learning opportunities for Cowichan lacrosse teams

Bantam and peewee teams battle with some of B.C.’s best
Cowichan’s Ryley Gallaugher levels a Delta Islanders player at the bantam provincial championships in Vernon. (Jason Gallaugher photo)

The provincial championships were opportunities for learning and development for the two Cowichan Thunder box lacrosse teams that qualified for their respective tournaments.

The bantam B Thunder went 0-3 at their championships in Vernon on July 14-17.

The team lost their first game 9-4 to the eventual champions from Chilliwack, with two goals by Jett Blosky and one each from Nelson Sylvester and Sully Steeves. Game two was a narrow 6-5 loss to Abbotsford, with the goals coming from Blosky, Cruiz Heemskerk, Joel Perret, Owen Blace and Jesse Bell. Finally, Steeves and Bell each scored twice as Cowichan lost 9-4 to Delta in their third game.

Blosky was named a tournament all-star and received the Warrior Fair Play Award.

“We played some really skilled teams that could have played in the A2 division,” Cowichan coach Bill Sanderson said. “Never stopped trying, kept it light and had a great time as a team. We didn’t win a medal but we won as a team. Couldn’t have asked for a better ending for the kids. They are all ready to continue for next year; we are not done.”

The team roster included Blosky, Sylvester, Steeves, Heemskerk, Perret, Blace, Bell, Josh Willson, Ryley Gallaugher, Mathew Daines, Maddisyn Solecki, Sada Bennefield, Chase Puska, Julia Hussey, Neveah Thorne, Ronan Boteler and Tyson Atkinson. Coaches were Sanderson, Koltin King, Tyson Black and Scott McCaffery.

Sponsors included Thrive Physiotherapy, Performance Parts Supply, Dickson & Fraser, Campbell River Marine Terminal, Ripple Rock Repairs, Nick Wise Mortgage, Malahat Legion, Panago. The team also thanked everyone who donated bottles to their bottle drive and who gave personal donations, as well as photographer Paula Harris.

The peewee Thunder went 1-2 at their tournament in Delta on July 7-10.

Cowichan opened with a 13-3 win over New Westminster, then lost 9-3 to Vancouver and 6-5 to Comox Valley.

Brolin Hastings was named a tournament all-star, and Seamus Rourke received the Fair Play Award.

The rest of the roster included Ben McKamey, Nola Kulchyski, Aedan Groicher, Darwin Clark, Eli Zwaan, Keira Miller, Liam Zwaan, Rosalee Edwards-Williams, Cade Turner, Michael Allaire, Tyrone Baker-Harris, Liam Hussey, Ryder Lafrance and Marcus Jones. Coaches were Jake Zwaan, Ryan Allaire, Mack Knuth and Marcus Parmar.