LCS principal Nicole Boucher presenting the Ardley Academic Trophy

LCS principal Nicole Boucher presenting the Ardley Academic Trophy

Student achievements recognized at annual LCS award ceremony

LCS concludes the school year by honouring its top students.

Lake Cowichan School celebrated its annual awards ceremony last Friday morning (June 26), recognizing students who had excelled in academics, arts, athletics and citizenship.

LCS’s top academic award, the Ardley Academic Trophy, went to three recepients this year: Lauren Frost, Maeve Hayward and Aislinn McKeown Ferris.

The three students received several other awards that morning, with Frost being presented  the award for Theatre, the Sr. Hector McIntosh Award, the History, History Through Film and Kaatza History awards, the Leadership Award and the Larry Eddy Memorial Citizenship Award. McKeown Ferris also received the English Trophy for her performance in English 12 and Writing 12.

Grade 11 student Rai Mullin received both the Palsson Math Award and the Allen Physics Trophy.

Grade 10 student Helen Spry received the award for top student in Japanese 12, as she challenged both the Japanese 10 and 11 curriculum to move ahead.

In the arts, the Totem Art Award, which goes to the top student in art 12, went to Alex Werk this year. The award for filmmaking went to grade 11 international student Nikolas Witt.

Shop students were also recognized, with the Barry Atchison award being presented to Bailey Callihoo and the Ludemann Award for construction going to Cassidy Longbottom.

In athletics, the Wes Thomas Award for most enthusiastic athlete went to Rai Mullen and the Al Howie Running Trophy went to Connor Mullin. Cassidy Longbottom was named as the top graduating athlete.

14 students from grade eight to 12 maintained straight A’s to make it onto the principal’s list this year: grade eights Kendall Bergstrom, Amber Eddy, Divinity Genovese-Arbic and Jordyn Waller; grade nines Madison Garbish, Gillian Longbottom and Kali Mullin; grade 10 student Helen Spry; grade 11 student Rai Mullin; and graduating students Miyaki Arai, Aislinn McKeown Ferris, Lauren Frost, Cassidy Longbottom and Nikolas Witt.

Just Posted

Cute but fierce! Timber moonlights as an attack kitty. (Sarah Simpson/Citizen)
Sarah Simpson Column: Beware of Mr. Bite, the midnight attacker

Last week, in the middle of the night, I was awoken by… Continue reading

The province has come through with funding for Duncan Manor’s renewal project. (File photo)
Funding comes through for Duncan Manor’s renewal project

Money will come from the province’s Community Housing Fund

The former St. Joseph’s School site will remain an art studio at least into early next year. It will take some time before being converted to an addictions recovery community. (Photo by Don Bodger)
Addiction recovery facility will be all about building community together

Society on a clear path with members’ experiences to provide valuable help

Seniors in the Cowichan Valley are being moved into the new Hamlets. (Sarah Simpson/Citizen)
New Hamlets in Duncan admitting seniors

Residential-care facility has 88 beds

How to tell if a call from ‘CRA’ is legitimate or a scam

Expert says it’s important to verify you really are dealing with the CRA before you give out any info

Unofficial holidays: Here’s what people are celebrating for the week of June 13 to 19

Flag Day, Garbage Man Day, International Panic Day all coming up this week

Terry Mazzei next to a truck after it was struck by lightning, with him inside, on Wednesday afternoon, June 9. He walked away from the incident without injury and the truck sustained only mild damage; a blown front tire and newly broken gas gauge. (Wendy Mazzei photo)
Vancouver Island man walks away unscathed after lightning strike

VIDEO: ‘We like to think that his dad was watching over him’

The courthouse in Nanaimo. (News Bulletin file)
Nanaimo man, already in jail, found guilty of sexual abuse of sons

Man previously sentenced for sexual interference involving girl in Nanaimo

British Columbia-Yukon Community News Association’s 2021 Ma Murray Awards were handed out during a virtual ceremony on Friday, June 10. (Screen grab)
Black Press Media winners take gold at B.C. and Yukon journalism awards

Publications received nods in dozens of categories

Prime Minister Justin Trudeau greets campers while visiting McDougall, Ont. on Thursday, July 19, 2018. THE CANADIAN PRESS/Frank Gunn
71% of B.C. men say they’d prefer to go camping with Trudeau: survey

Most British Columbians with plans to go camping outdoors say they’d prefer to go with Trudeau or Shania Twain

Members of the Department of Fisheries and Oceans’ Marine Mammal Response Program rescued an adult humpback what that was entangled in commercial fishing gear in the waters off of Entrance Island on Thursday, June 10. (Photo courtesy Marine Mammal Response Program)
Rescuers free humpback ‘anchored’ down by prawn traps off Vancouver Island

Department of Fisheries and Oceans responders spend hours untangling whale

Chilliwack cocaine trafficker Clayton Eheler seen with a tiger somewhere in Asia in 2014. Eheler was sentenced to nine years jail in 2018, but was released on bail in October 2020 pending his appeal of conviction.(Facebook)
Director of civil forfeiture seeks $140,000 from Fraser Valley drug dealer’s father-in-law

Clayton Eheler’s father-in-law Ray Morrissey caught with money in Fort St. John by B.C.’s gang unit

A Comox Valley shellfish operator pleaded guilty and was fined $10,000 in provincial court in Courtenay earlier this year. Record file photo
B.C. clam harvester fined $10,000 for Fisheries Act violations

Charges against three others were stayed in Courtenay Provincial Court

Most Read