Initiation League coach Mike Waller shakes hands with his team during the hockey awards night

Awards day closes off another successful hockey season

Another successful hockey season closed off, while the 2011/2012 one was alluded to, during the Cowichan Lake Minor Hockey District Awards Day and Annual General Meeting, Sunday, April 10.


Another successful hockey season closed off, while the 2011/2012 one was alluded to, during the Cowichan Lake Minor Hockey District Awards Day and Annual General Meeting, Sunday, April 10.

During the awards ceremony, many Peewee players were unavailable to receive their awards, as they were at a tournament in Powell River (it was revealed during the ceremony that they’d managed to place fourth).

Atom League team coach Mark Martin was one of the proudest, as his team placed first in the league, losing only two games all season.

“We played hard and we played well,” he said.

Following the team and association awards, the Annual General Meeting elections were held, with outgoing president Darren Sowden thanking a larger than usual turnout of people interested in holding positions for making the job easier.

The results of the evening are listed below:

Team Awards

• Initiation

Most Improved

– Richard  Bergman and

Mackenzie Callihoo

Most Sportsmanlike

– Megan Rowbottom and

Jillian Waller

Most Dedicated

– Jackson Lee and Seth


• Novice

Most Improved

– Kierce Nelson

Most Sportsmanlike

–  Kyle Hieta

Most Dedicated

– Ethan Brown

• Atom

Most Improved

– Shauna Johel

Most Sportsmanlike

– Miles Brooks

Most Dedicated

– Shalyn Jones

• Peewee 1

Most Improved

– Chelsea Major

Most Sportsmanlike

– Rai Mullin

Most Dedicated

– Nathan Bath

• Peewee 2

Most Improved

– Mason Day

Most Sportsmanlike

– Carter Allan

Most Dedicated

– Billy Robertson

• Bantam

Most Improved

– Lucas Post

Most Sportsmanlike

– John Hieta

Most Dedicated

– Cale Mackey and Tyler


• Midget

Most Improved

– Josh Foolkes

Most Sportsmanlike

– Jordan Fraser

Most Dedicated

– Doug Mackie

Association Awards

Christina McCleod memorial trophy (most dedicated female)

– Chelsea Major and Lacey


Peter “scooter” Hawryluk memorial trophy (coach or manager of the year)

– Mark Martin

Bill Lowe memorial trophy (outstanding contribution by an executive member)

– Darren Sowden

Tom Trottier memorial trophy (most sportmanlike defenceman)

– Lucas Post

Larry Eddy memorial trophy (player personality of the year)

– Ethan Bottomley

George Peterson memorial trophy (hockey personality of the year)

– Lonny Ferguson

Ryan Sahm memorial trophy (Bantam player with the most  heart)

– Justin Fournier

Official of the year

– Clark Atchison

Wayne “weiner” Palliser memorial trophy (unsung forward playmaker)

– Quinn Major

Executive Elections


– Jackie Cummings

1st vice-president

– Steve Vatcher

2nd vice-president

– Greg Clayton


– Shaun Rowbottom


– Angie Fournier

Two-year directors

– Todd Vaughan, Cheryl

Major, Trina Grunow


– Mark Martin, Jen Hieta


Just Posted

Cowichan 49ers are VISL’s last perfect team

Masters team holds off UVic Alumni for ninth win in nine games

Gas prices on Vancouver Island to drop six cents

But a ‘volatile’ market could lead to increases in the coming weeks

Stolen solar panels pose danger in Duncan crosswalks

Officials with the City of Duncan are frustrated after two solar panels… Continue reading

Time to reduce speed limit on Highway 18?

the speed limit is set as the maximum safe velocity for good weather, in daylight.

Throw a snowball to help kids at BC Children’s Hospital

Effort will raise money for sick kids over the holidays

Seniors in care homes may not get referendum ballots in the mail: Seniors Advocate

Voters list was established in May 2017, so if they moved into a care home since then….

Feds give $2 million to prevent anti-extremism in B.C.

Public Safety Minister Mike Farnworth said supporting efforts locally is key to prevention

Should the legal age for cannabis be increased to 21?

B.C. residents have a more mellow attitude to the age limit for pot – but 23 per cent want the legal age increased

Expect ride hailing in B.C. by 2020, Premier Horgan says

Taxi-style insurance option needed for part-time drivers

B.C. on track to record same number of overdose deaths as last year

128 people died of overdoses in September, bringing the total to more than 1,100 so far in 2018

Canada Post strike having ‘critical’ impact on retailers, eBay tells PM

Canada Post says it is now facing an unprecedented backlog of shipments, largely as a result of strikes

NASA wants Canadian boots on the moon as first step in deep space exploration

The U.S. is seeking broad international support for the next-generation space station to send into orbit a in 2021

B.C. Lions GM Ed Hervey has plan for busy off-season

The Lions’ season ended Sunday with a crushing 48-8 loss to the Hamilton Tiger-Cats in the East Division semifinal

Most Read