Opinion

(courtesy B.C. Lions)

THE MOJ: A Rourke return for the Lions? Let’s call it a long shot with a shot

Still a faint hope that B.C.’s quarterback sensation could be back in time for the playoffs

letters

Letter: Minority, disruptive crowd did not represent North Cowichan residents

If you had engaged in the process you would know there were citizens participating like never before

  • Sep 30, 2022
letters

Letter: Sportsplex should not be included in referendum

The CVRD has no right to give my tax money to any private organization

  • Sep 30, 2022
letters

Letter: Paving over good farmland

This puts us in a very precarious position

  • Sep 30, 2022
letters
letters

Letter: Cemetery expansion is a dead-end issue

Surely, there are more important things to spend our tax dollars on

  • Sep 30, 2022
letters
letters

Letter: Forest review misconceptions

13 current mayoral and councillor candidates have committed to a timely finish of the forest review

  • Sep 30, 2022
letters
letters

Letter: Heartfelt thanks for food donations

Donating a total of a whopping 13,069 lbs of grocery items

  • Sep 29, 2022
letters
Drive Smart columnist Tim Schewe.

Drivesmart column: The invisible pedestrian

The van driver had one hand on the steering wheel, one hand on his cell phone

  • Oct 2, 2022
Drive Smart columnist Tim Schewe.
Candace Spilsbury is chair of the board of the Cowichan Valley School District. (Citizen file)

Column: School board thanks teachers on World Teachers’ Day

The decision to enter the teaching profession is not one that is taken lightly

  • Oct 2, 2022
Candace Spilsbury is chair of the board of the Cowichan Valley School District. (Citizen file)
(Citizen file)

Column: Regional referendum – who should pay for recreation facilities?

Funding for recreation facilities has been an issue in Cowichan since the late 1960s

  • Oct 2, 2022
(Citizen file)
Wire mesh filled with household vegetable scraps layered with chopped blackberry vine to keep out critters. (Mary Lowther photo)

Mary Lowther column: The nitty-gritty of the fall compost heap

During the summer I have been piling up vegetation debris

  • Oct 1, 2022
Wire mesh filled with household vegetable scraps layered with chopped blackberry vine to keep out critters. (Mary Lowther photo)
There’s air under those back wheels. Girls can skateboard, too! It’s not my job to tell her what sports and activities to love. It’s my job to support her in doing the ones she chooses. (Sarah Simpson/Citizen)

Sarah Simpson column: She is a skater girl, and this mom couldn’t be more proud

I was leafing through the CVRD’s rec guide and came upon a girls only learn to skateboard series

There’s air under those back wheels. Girls can skateboard, too! It’s not my job to tell her what sports and activities to love. It’s my job to support her in doing the ones she chooses. (Sarah Simpson/Citizen)
Mountainview Cemetery is expanding and North Cowichan is looking for input from the public on what people want to see there. (Courtesy of North Cowichan)

Editorial: The changing business of burial

In the end, that’s what most people want: and acknowledgement of their existence

  • Sep 29, 2022
Mountainview Cemetery is expanding and North Cowichan is looking for input from the public on what people want to see there. (Courtesy of North Cowichan)
letters

Letter: Planning development is interferenc

Take urban containment, for example. That is an artificial expression of a planner’s wish

  • Sep 27, 2022
letters
letters

Letter: Protect our municipality with your vote

If we give it away we cannot get it back,

  • Sep 27, 2022
letters
letters

Letter: Resume logging in forest reserve

Come forth you candidates with your view on this

  • Sep 27, 2022
letters
letters

Letter: Be proud of our Commonwealth past

No amount of exaggeration or shaming can change that

  • Sep 27, 2022
letters
letters

Letter: Too big, too much, too close

Slow down! We live here because we chose a rural community

  • Sep 27, 2022
letters
letters

Letter: Anti-gender neutral washroom talking points well-worn

While they may seem compassionate in nature they are nothing but thinly veiled bigotry

  • Sep 27, 2022
letters
letters

Letter: Perhaps a green burial site in the municipal forest?

Perhaps this would be a very sweet place to rest in peace

  • Sep 26, 2022
letters