Karen Deck is the new CVRD director for Electoral Area I. (Gazette file photo)

Karen Deck is the new CVRD director for Electoral Area I. (Gazette file photo)

Nicholson wins in Cowichan’s Electoral Area E

Deck wins in Electoral Area I

Alison Nicholson will serve a third term as the Cowichan Valley Regional District’s director for Electoral Area E (Sahtlam/Glenora/Cowichan Station).

Nicholson held onto the seat with 501 votes during the municipal elections on Oct. 15, beating challenger Ruth Waddell who garnered 315 votes.

She said she’s looking forward to getting back to work on behalf of the community.

“I was feeling fairly confident in the lead up to the election, and I’m pleased the voters gave me such a strong mandate to represent them at the board table,” Nicholson said.

“The first thing we need to do as a board is meet and get to know each other. There are a number of new area directors and there has been some changes at North Cowichan’s council table. The board needs to function well to be effective and we will all need to work together.”

Nicholson said among her priorities over the next four years is water and watershed issues, road safety, land-use planning and emergency preparedness, especially considering the impacts of climate change in her area and on the Valley.

She said she has high hopes that the COVID-19 pandemic is almost over as it made the last term pretty problematic for the board and its initiatives.

Newcomer Karen Deck was the winner in Electoral Area I (Youbou/Meade Creek) with 188 votes, beating out incumbent Klaus Kuhn who received 173 votes.

Also running for the seat were Max Russell, who received 56 votes and John Rudzik, who garnered 20 votes.

Deck couldn’t be reached for comment by press time.


Like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter

Election 2022