MacGregor declared winner in Cowichan-Malahat-Langford

The NDP's Alistair MacGregor has been declared the winner in Cowichan-Malahat-Langford

UPDATE: With 55 polls now in, Alistair MacGregor has been declared the winner in the Cowichan-Malahat-Langford riding. With 60 polls reporting in, MacGregor sits at 5,359 votes. Second place is swinging between the Liberals and Conservatives, with Martin Barker sitting at 3,374 votes and Luke Krayenhoff at 3,376 votes. Fran Hunt-Jinnouchi is sitting at 2,477. Alastair Haythornthwaite has tallied 59 votes.


UPDATE: With 50 polls now reporting Alistair MacGregor holds a healthy lead with 4,686 votes. It’s a tight race for second place with Martin Barker, at 2,815 votes now falling slightly behind Liberal Luke Krayenhoff, who holds 2,874 votes. Fran Hunt-Jinnouchi has 2,119, with Alastair Haythornthwaite trailing with 49 votes.


With a projected Liberal majority government on the way, ballots have started to be counted in the Cowichan-Malahat-Langford riding.

With 10 of 229 polls reporting the NDP’s Alistair MacGregor has a grip on the lead with 1,420 votes, with Martin Barker in second for the Conservatives with 784 and Luke Krayenhoff nipping at his heals for the Liberals with 777. Fran Hunt-Jinnouchi stands third thus far with 654 votes. Alastair Haythornthwaite’s vote tally stands at nine for the Marxist-Leninists.