Residents chose their board of directors in elections on Oct. 15, 2022. (Citizen file)

Residents chose their board of directors in elections on Oct. 15, 2022. (Citizen file)

UPDATED: Jesse McClinton, Alison Nicholson win in CVRD races; recreation funding referendum passes

Seven of the Cowichan Valley Regional District’s nine electoral areas held elections Oct. 15 to decide their area director for the regional district board.

There were two candidates vying for the seat in most of the areas, while Area A (Mill Bay/Malahat) had three candidates, and Area I (Youbou/Meade Creek) had four candidates.

According to the CVRD website, with Oct. 15 voting, advance polls and mail votes now having been tabulated in five areas, preliminary results are in.

In Area A Kate Segall leads the pack with 379 votes, to Mark Dodd’s 217 votes and Paul Olthof’s 124 votes.

In Area B (Shawnigan Lake) incumbent Sierra Acton has won over challenger Kathy Code 1,048 votes to 490.

In Area C (Cobble Hill) incumbent Mike Wilson has beaten his challenger David Slade 824 to 525.

In Area D (Cowichan Bay) Hilary Abbott earned 719 votes to David Fast’s 287 votes.

In Area E (Sahtlam/Glenora/Cowichan Station) incumbent Alison Nicholson won with 501 votes to challenger Ruth Waddell’s 315.

And in Area G (Saltair/Gulf Islands) Jesse McClinton beat incumbent Lynne Smith with 689 votes to 330 votes.

And in Area I, results show that Karen Deck led incumbent Klaus Kuhn with 188 votes and 173 votes respectively. Max Russell recieved 56 votes and John Rudzik recieved 20 votes.

Two directors, Ian Morrison in Area F (Cowichan Lake South/Skutz Falls) and Ben Maartman in Area H (North Oyster/Diamond) were acclaimed.

The CVRD also held a referendum on a new funding formula for recreation facilities. The referendum passed 8,985 to 8,005.

Election 2022