Editorials

Christmas lights are something that people can do to celebrate the season that are not impacted by COVID-19. (file photo)

Editorial: Holiday season will be different this year

We’ll have to adjust our Christmas plans this year.

  • Nov 26, 2020
Pumping over the weir in Cowichan Lake has been required when summer droughts threatened to run the Cowichan River dry. (Lexi Bainas/Gazette)

Editorial: Funding for watershed projects, including weir, welcome

Any and all grants from senior levels of government to help with this vital project are welcome.

  • Nov 19, 2020
The City of Duncan is hoping for a grant to help pay for a solar-energy project, similar to the one pictured that GreenCoast installed on the roof of the Hilltop Building in Duncan last year, that is planned for the roof of the Duncan fire hall. (File photo)

Editorial: Solar panels on municipal buildings a good idea

Our municipal buildings are an untapped resource when it comes to solar power generation.

  • Nov 12, 2020
Air cadets take a quiet moment at the Lake Cowichan cenotaph after laying their wreath Nov. 11, 2019. This year, residents are asked not to go to the cenotaph, but rather to take part in the Remembrance Day ceremony online. (Lexi Bainas/Gazette file)

Editorial: COVID changing face of Remembrance Day this year

We are being asked to stay away from the traditional ceremonies at our cenotaphs.

  • Nov 5, 2020
Air cadets take a quiet moment at the Lake Cowichan cenotaph after laying their wreath Nov. 11, 2019. This year, residents are asked not to go to the cenotaph, but rather to take part in the Remembrance Day ceremony online. (Lexi Bainas/Gazette file)
John Horgan has been re-elected the MLA for Langford-Juan de Fuca, and will head back to the legislature at premier following the Saturday, Oct. 24, 2020 election. (File-Black Press)

Editorial: Majority government doesn’t mean smooth sailing as pandemic presents big challenges

Even with a majority, the NDP has a difficult road ahead.

  • Oct 29, 2020
John Horgan has been re-elected the MLA for Langford-Juan de Fuca, and will head back to the legislature at premier following the Saturday, Oct. 24, 2020 election. (File-Black Press)
Make sure to get out and vote this Saturday, Oct. 24, 2020. (KARI MEDIG/TRI-CITY NEWS)

Editorial: Whose promises do you believe? Cast your ballot

COVID-19 has also shaped a great many of the major issues being discussed in the street.

  • Oct 22, 2020
Make sure to get out and vote this Saturday, Oct. 24, 2020. (KARI MEDIG/TRI-CITY NEWS)
video
Dog stranded in Cowichan River
Flying over Cowichan, ceremony at Cobble Hill cenotaph
Bergen pushes Liberals for better COVID-19 plan
Elections BC aiming for results on November 16
Single use checkout bags are one of the plastic items on the list that will be banned in Canada starting in 2021. (Citizen file)

Editorial: Federal plastic ban a good start — but just a start

Canadians toss out 3 million tonnes of plastic waste every year.

  • Oct 15, 2020
Single use checkout bags are one of the plastic items on the list that will be banned in Canada starting in 2021. (Citizen file)
Editorial: Celebrating the hard work of our firefighters

Editorial: Celebrating the hard work of our firefighters

It is the community firefighters who are going to show up and save the day.

  • Oct 8, 2020
Editorial: Celebrating the hard work of our firefighters
Editorial: Pandemic election will be a challenge

Editorial: Pandemic election will be a challenge

We hope our citizens will step up. Voting is both our right and our duty.

  • Oct 1, 2020
Editorial: Pandemic election will be a challenge
Editorial: $6.5 million for health care badly needed

Editorial: $6.5 million for health care badly needed

Help is on the way for people in the Cowichan Valley without a family doctor.

  • Sep 24, 2020
Editorial: $6.5 million for health care badly needed
Editorial: Tiny houses should be an option in Cowichan

Editorial: Tiny houses should be an option in Cowichan

We are missing the boat by not enabling the building of tiny houses.

  • Sep 17, 2020
Editorial: Tiny houses should be an option in Cowichan
Editorial: Don’t be a deadbeat animal owner

Editorial: Don’t be a deadbeat animal owner

How many cats get left behind when somebody moves?

  • Sep 10, 2020
Editorial: Don’t be a deadbeat animal owner
Fall is on the way for 2020. (Citizen file)

Fall is on its way, and change is in the air

The B.C. Back to School plan was released on July 29

Fall is on the way for 2020. (Citizen file)
Editorial: Housing continuity for Cowichan’s homeless just makes sense

Editorial: Housing continuity for Cowichan’s homeless just makes sense

Doing this in a seamless manner is the best answer

  • Aug 27, 2020
Editorial: Housing continuity for Cowichan’s homeless just makes sense
Pumping over the weir in Cowichan Lake will not be required this summer. (Lexi Bainas/Gazette)

Editorial: 2020 respite doesn’t mean we can take water for granted

It’s not something we can take as a sign of things to come

  • Aug 20, 2020
Pumping over the weir in Cowichan Lake will not be required this summer. (Lexi Bainas/Gazette)
Why has wearing a mask become such a divisive issue? (Citizen file)

Editorial: Mask wearing: innocuous advice has turned into polarizing war

Somehow, this innocuous recommendation has become a polarizing war for some.

  • Aug 13, 2020
Why has wearing a mask become such a divisive issue? (Citizen file)
Editorial: Preventing wildfires more vital than ever in 2020

Editorial: Preventing wildfires more vital than ever in 2020

We are truly our own worst enemies on this file.

  • Aug 6, 2020
Editorial: Preventing wildfires more vital than ever in 2020
Editorial: Inaction on homelessness costs money

Editorial: Inaction on homelessness costs money

The study determined that homeless people with mental illness generate high costs for society

Editorial: Inaction on homelessness costs money
Washing your hands frequently when you’re out and about is one of the ways you should be protecting yourself from COVID-19. (file photo)

Now is not the time to slack off on virus prevention

Now is not the time to be less careful, now is the…

  • Jul 16, 2020
Washing your hands frequently when you’re out and about is one of the ways you should be protecting yourself from COVID-19. (file photo)
Editorial: Alternative approval process is not the enemy

Editorial: Alternative approval process is not the enemy

Not everything should go to a referendum.

  • Jul 9, 2020
Editorial: Alternative approval process is not the enemy